Yogic Lifestyle in Covid-19

All of us are facing the current effects of Covid19. In its aftermath, it has affected some of our social behaviour patterns, forcing us into solitude and isolation. This blog intends to try to make use of the “me-time” effectively and efficiently, thus uplifting morale and inducing a happier frame of mind that would eventually result in a healthier You!

Looking back, it seems that lockdown was not new for Indian Civilization as it was a part of Lifestyle.

Truth seekers, Yogis and spiritual gurus lived a self-isolated life to realize the ultimate truth or to have liberation. During this period of living with silence, surrounded by nature in its glorious form, it allowed to self-realize and self-purify the body, mind and energy with different Hatha & Tantric Yoga practices.

The human life is divided into 4 stages (Ashrama) – each one occupying ¼ or 25% of human lifespan.

1.The First Ashrama: “Brahmacharya” or the Student Stage
2.The Second Ashrama: “Grihastha” or the Householder Stage
3.The Third Ashrama: “Vanaprastha” or the Hermit Stage
4.The Fourth Ashrama: “Sanyasa” or the Wandering Ascetic Stage

Bhramacharya: This is the first stage of life and is the most transforming because it is here that a person starts to learn the value of discipline. You can associate this stage with trying out and beginning the practice of Yoga through Asana. The Asana requires to develop skills, focussed thought, balance and daily practice. It is the beginning of training the body and mind in order to allow it to achieve a higher purpose passing on through the other stages of life.

Grihastha: The second stage of life is where one armed with the discipline attained in first stage steps into the householder stage. Here one has to perform the duties of raising family. The material pleasures associated with raising a family is balanced with a continued spiritual outlook. In order to develop a balanced outlook, the practice of Yoga, Dhyana (meditation) is helpful so that one serves the needs of family and also pursues an inward journey required to seek the true self.

Vanaprastha: This stage can be related to a ‘retirement’ from active work life. It is a process of letting go of the past moment, week, month, year or any other time frame of one’s life when one strived to discharge the Grahastha duties. Letting go helps one to prepare the mind for the next stage as well as create the environment for others passing through similar stages of life to occupy what you let go, in a way. During our practice of mindfulness in yoga sessions, we constantly prepare the mind to let go.

Sannyasa: The wandering recluse.
The 4th type of ashram is type of ashram where the dharma and realization takes place. This is the stage where person is totally devoted to seek ultimate truth. He is known as Sannyasi. In this stage he has no home, no family and no other attachment, no duties and responsibilities. He is actually merging here with god. At this stage all the desire almost died, and concern of life becomes one that is moksha or to release from the circle of birth and death. (Very few Hindus has reached this stage of moksha)

Our ancient rishis and yogis were master’s in it, now it’s time for to learn this science. Yogis have always done action without association, they were able to detach easily, because they are following the simple principle, Abhyasa (Practice) and Vairagya(non-attachment).
It’s for all of us the practice.

This COVID 19 is great opportunity for humanity to attain peace within through the practice of Abhyasa (Practice) and Vairagaya (non-attachment).


With Love,

Bala Arvind